A knotty tale

Happy New Year, one and all!

Yes, well, I’m still not exactly well, but at least now I’m on medication and it seems to be starting to help a bit.  I spent Christmas with my parents, as I usually do, and I got a little bit of stitching done there; then I went down to London for the New Year’s Eve concert, which turned out to be pretty much of a disaster.  I will not go into all the things that went wrong over that weekend, but suffice it to say that by the time I arrived at the concert and found that poor Charles was unwell and couldn’t sing, I was not in the least surprised because it just fitted in with everything else.  I hope he’s feeling much better by now.  The one redeeming feature of the weekend was the fact that I stayed at a really lovely, welcoming guest house in Walthamstow, where I was able to spend the Sunday basically recovering from the Saturday.

And stitching.

State of progress on 1 Jan 2012

This is where I’ve got to at the moment.  Let’s have a closer look and see what’s new here.

Close-up showing more detail

First of all, you’ll see that I have done some more purl filling.  It turns out to be far easier, and infinitely less sore on the fingers, to use a beading needle for this; I had no problems with it this time.  But the really new thing is that I have started filling in the “windswept triangles”, as I like to call them.  This photo has come out looking a bit more contrasty than it really is; on the actual piece, the contrast is quite subtle.  The colour used is Anchor green 844.

And what stitch am I using to fill these very irregular, awkward areas?  Wait for it…

Extreme close-up showing stitching

…French knots.

This is an extremely slow way to fill a space, but, as you see, the results are very satisfying.  I’m also pleased with the effect of introducing a little green into the repeating pattern.

This weekend I am in London again for another concert; it’s very unusual for me to go to two concerts so close together, but that was just the way it worked out this time.  I’m going to be bringing the embroidery, so hopefully I should get a bit more done then.  Especially if things go better than they did on New Year’s Eve… which honestly won’t take much. 😛

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Susan Wells Sculpture on 10/01/2012 at 11:33 pm

    Beautiful work Elinor. I had no idea the needle work was done before the piece was cut and sewn. I am an imaginary embroiderer. Nice to see a real live one:)

    Reply

    • Thank you very much! This is how it was done historically; my piece is only quite loosely historically based, but it does use a lot of the same techniques. I learned a great deal from getting the chance to examine some 17th-century embroidery “up close and personal” in a museum, and would definitely recommend it for inspiration.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

