Just add beads

I promised another waistcoat post, and here it is.  As you can see, I made excellent progress while I was away:

Progress as at about 10 pm on 21 August

The observant among you may have noticed that gold tips are now appearing on the ends of the tendrils.  Let’s just have a closer look at those, shall we?

Close-up showing beads

It hasn’t come out quite as clearly as I would have liked, but you can just about see (it’s clearest in the two tendrils near centre bottom) that there’s a little bead similar in colour to the tendril stitched at the end of it, and around that there are five gold beads.  I found the gold beads while I was away; I hadn’t been able to find any at home that were a good match for the gold thread, but these fitted the bill admirably.  The match is much better in real life than it is in the photo; in real life they are indistinguishable in colour.

This is also probably a good point to show you how I’m handling the buttonholes.

Showing the embroidery around the buttonholes

As you see, I’ve broken the design to leave a small margin around the buttonholes; also, the hook at the top of the gold part of the motif under the lower buttonhole in this picture has been ever so slightly lowered to allow for the buttonhole.  Frankly, I am not doing a lot of extremely careful embroidery and then cutting through it for buttonholes. 🙂  So that’s been allowed for in advance.  I take absolutely no credit for the fact that the buttonhole spacing happens to match that of the motifs exactly (there are two buttonholes per motif).  That’s just one of those amazing and delightful flukes which seem to have sprouted from this project ever since I started on it.  The size of the motifs was planned to match the size of those on the original Victorian waistcoat as far as possible, with no thought for the buttonhole spacing at the time.

Incidentally, the design has moved on quite a bit from the paisley that inspired it, but you can still see the basic shape of it… and, of course, I left the paisley hooks in, as a homage to the Victorian half of the inspiration.  And the fact that I love paisley anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

