The great resize: part 2

OK, that was a lot of work, but here are the fruits of my labours so far.  I was at least able to cut down the effort fairly considerably because the front facing and lining together are the same shape as the front, so all I had to do was mark the seam line between them on the front piece and I had effectively three pattern blocks for a little over the price of one.  Here are the three front blocks on a single piece of squared paper:

The three front blocks for the waistcoat pattern

As you see, it took a bit more twiddling to get the armscye right, but then I thought it probably would.  I was most heartily thanking the Lord yesterday that I’d picked a waistcoat, rather than anything with sleeves.  Also, it turned out that there was a slight error on the pattern, which I have corrected.  See the double notch on the side of the garment, indicated by the arrow?  That’s clearly marked on all the pieces in the pattern instructions, but the only printed piece on which it’s marked is the front lining, so I had to measure up the side seam on the back to work out exactly where to put it.

Here’s the back.  This time I had a slightly better idea what I was doing with the armscye, having had a bit of practice.  I might add on this subject that it would have been really helpful if I’d been able to recall where I’d put my set of French curves. 🙂

The back pattern block for the waistcoat

There ought to be a double notch in the armscye, which I’ve just remembered I should have put in, but it’s not going to correspond with the original one because I completely redrew that area of the pattern.  It doesn’t actually matter too much where it goes, since the only thing it matches is itself, or to be more precise the corresponding double notch on the lining piece.  I’ll put that in shortly.

There is just one more piece that needs resizing, but fortunately it will be no trouble to do it; this is the back tie piece, which is going to need widening to take account of the buckle, this being (as previously mentioned) a little sturdier than the one specified in the pattern instructions.  I may also consider interfacing that, for the same reason, if it’s not interfaced already.  I have plenty of organic cotton muslin.  The original waistcoat has pockets, but I’m not putting those in because of the embroidery, in case anyone recognises the pattern and is wondering.

The next step is to trace all the blocks onto either tissue paper or clear plastic film.  Once that’s done, I can actually start cutting out the mock-up.  Go me! 😀

Leave a Reply

