Crafter’s miscellany

Apologies for the radio silence over the last week or so.  I’ve been away, celebrating my birthday in the Lake District with my parents as I usually do.  Needless to say, that doesn’t mean I haven’t been crafting.  Far from it.

As far as the waistcoat goes, I’ve mainly been working on the purple lucet cord.  I have had second thoughts about the original gold embroidery thread, and decided that a slightly more muted and silvery shade of gold would look better with the blue.  Being me, I wanted to use the bright gold for something, even if not the purpose originally intended, and it occurred to me that if I blended a little of it in with the purple wool that I’m using for the lucet cord, that would just lift it a bit.

So I tried that, and the embroidery thread turned out to be such an absolute pig to work with that I gave up on the idea.  By this time, however, I’d decided I really liked the effect, so I went off to John Lewis to see if I could find something that would do something similar but be easier to handle.  And I did.  You can see the result below.

Purple and gold lucet cord under construction

While I was in there, I also found something else: a tambour hook, would you believe it?  I have been looking for one of those for absolutely years!  It wasn’t called a tambour hook, mind you, but that was clearly what it was.  I haven’t yet had a chance to try it out, since I forgot to take it up to the Lake District, but I shall at some point soon.  If I didn’t have this waistcoat project on, I should certainly be doing something seriously Regency by now.  As it is, I’m still Elinor of Kentdale rather than Elinor Dashwood, but I reserve the right to swan around in tamboured muslin at a later date. 🙂  Here’s  a photo, showing the hook still in its packaging so you know what to look for if you want one of your own.

Tambour hook, still in package

Finally, while I was away, I wandered into a craft shop in Kendal (let’s face it, it’s probably impossible to stop me) and saw a little Indian bead loom.  I thought it might be a more useful way to carry around my tablet weaving than the arrangement I have at the moment, but of course I also had to give it a whirl for its original purpose, and this is the result.  Like the tambour hook, it’s totally irrelevant to the waistcoat, but it is a lot of fun… and much faster than beading with just a needle.  I know.  I’ve done my share of that.

Indian bead loom

Sometimes I am terribly predictable. 😉

2 responses to this post.

  1. The gold mix thread is really lovely!

    I had no idea what tambour muslin was, so I had to search it. Turns out I did know what it is, I just had no idea how it was made.

    And I found this: http://www.vintagetextile.com/new_page_235.htm

    and now I want to make one.

    Reply

  2. Oh, that’s drop dead gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

